Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education
(Drug & Alcohol Exam)
The Drug & Alcohol Exam is a 4-hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (Also known as DATA, START, Drug and Alcohol Course) is required for all new drivers getting their License. This is the first step in the State of Florida Graduated Licensing approach. If you are a teenager getting your learner permit, this is the first step for you.
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education TLSAE course teaches how drugs, distractions and many other factors effect your ability to drive. You are required to spend a minimum of 4 hours taking the course but you can spread that out logging in and out of the course on your schedule. Once you complete all the sections of the course there is a test. You can take the test as many times as necessary but if you pay attention to the course materials it is very straight forward.
How the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course Works
First Step is Registration:
Click here to begin your registration. You will answer a series of security questions – these questions will pop up at random during the course to make sure it is you who is taking the course.
Start the Course:
There are 7 Modules and each has a required time you must spend before you can take the quiz and move on.
Take the Test:
When you complete the (TLSAE) Course and pass the test your completion information is automatically transmitted to the Florida DMV.
The Florida DMV no longer accepts paper certificates for the DATA course. The DMV will look up your information electronically. For that reason we no longer mail you a certificate.
If you need further assistance on any topics, feel a little overwhelmed, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at any one of our locations!